Just Killing Time

I’m still here. I haven’t left yet.

My tickets are booked, our movers are scheduled to come very soon, and I’ll be living out of suitcases until I fly across the ocean blue. I haven’t worked since August, and I’ve become very fond of puppy cuddles and Netflix. It hasn’t been all unicorns and rainbows though as there is a lot of work that goes behind an overseas move, let alone a military overseas move.


So what I have been doing in between puppy cuddles, Netflix, wine, the gym, and sleeping? I can tell you there are things I did not expect at all or didn’t even think about.

  • Paperwork. Paperwork. PAPERWORK!
  • Researching my new future home
  • Applying for jobs
  • Joining (more) Facebook groups
  • Downsizing
  • Preparing Maverick for the big move
  • Trying to decide what I can live without for a few months.
  • Appointments for myself
  • Veterinary appointments for Maverick
  • Phone calls. Phone calls. Phone calls.
  • Waiting on everything. (AKA opening another bottle of wine)
  • Traveling to see family & friends

This long road is slowly and the same time very quickly coming to a close.


 I’ve had the privilege to spend 5 weeks with my husband since we tied the knot back in April. We both agreed it’s definitely not ideal to spend months apart so soon after our vows, but we knew we would overcome the distance and the hardship. Most days felt like a lifetime while other days I felt as though I could overcome anything that was thrown at me.

 Aside from what I did and did not expect from this move from the legal aspect and the personal hardship. I cannot express how humbling this journey has been to me personally. The relationships that have been formed from my family, friends, co-workers,  other Army wives, husbands, girlfriends, mothers, fathers, and those serving in our Armed Forces currently. Thank goodness for Facebook. 😉  And for that I am so thankful for each and every one of them.

I firmly believe we are given unlikely circumstances because it’s God’s way of showing us He is in control of our todays and our tomorrows. Our circumstances don’t define us, it’s how we react to our outcomes that really define our character.

I’m here, just 25 days from flying out to continue hardships and blessings with the man I so deeply love and would (literally) fly across the world to experience and be apart of something so much bigger than ourselves.

Right now, I’m just killing time.

Xoxo

IMG_8076

 

 

2 thoughts on “Just Killing Time

  1. Best of luck on your new adventure! Please thank your husband for his service to our country.

    Like

    1. Thank you! ♥️

      Like

Leave a comment

E-mail gsscholtes18@gmail.com Hours M-F: 7-3pm Saturdays: 7-11am
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started